Getting ready for Lent
Ash Wednesday and Good Friday
are days of Fasting and Abstinence
ABSTINENCE – The Law of Abstinence requires a Catholic 14 years of age until death to abstain from eating meat (beef, chicken, pork) on Fridays in honor of the Passion of Jesus on Good Friday. Also forbidden are soups or gravies made from them. Salt and freshwater species of fish, amphibians, reptiles, and shellfish are permitted, as are animal-derived products such as margarine and gelatin which do not have any meat taste.
FASTING – The Law of Fasting requires a Catholic from the 18th to 59th birthday to reduce the amount of food eaten from normal. The Church defines this as one meal a day, and two smaller meals which if added together would not exceed the main meal in quantity. The fast is broken by eating meals and by drinks which would be considered food.