Saturday, September 30, 2006

Worship of God

A quick lesson in one very important aspect of Catholic theology.

Latria--the supreme worship, which may be offered to God alone.
Dulia--the veneration given to the saints as servants of God.
Hyperdulia--the veneration offered to Mary as the most exalted of creatures.

Catholics in general may not know the terms, but we do know the difference between worship, veneration, reverence, honor and respect, as experienced in our lives.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home